Historical Fiction



Six destinies. Two bloodlines. One secret.

Upheaval looms on the horizon, casting its long shadows from the glittering English court to the tranquil setting of Framlingham, home of the Mowbray children.

When the winds of change begin to blow, Argyle is thrown into the arms of none other than the greatest knight in England. But not all is at it seems - least of all Argyle himself.

Sign up to get your copy of The Golden Squire - your intro to the chronicles.

You can look forward to receiving bonus scenes, sneak peeks and treats you can't get your hands on anywhere else

At the King's Command

A young knight reluctant to obey. A murderer sworn to secrecy. A dangerous truth drenched in blood.


At age eleven, Argyle Mowbray dreams of chivalry and adventure. When a most unlikely adversary kills Argyle’s master, he finally understands that real life is a far cry from his childhood fantasies.


Reluctantly, Argyle accepts a royal command that sends him on a dangerous quest for the truth. He must succeed in order to untangle his family from a bloody power struggle. But the more he learns, the more he doubts what he knows.


One thing is undeniable: If he reveals all a dynasty will collapse.

Click here to purchase your copy

Court of Deadly Whispers


A sordid affair turned deadly. A spurned child Queen caught in a deceitful court. An unhinged King unleashing his wrath.

Argyle Mowbray, knight and nobleman, has fallen into disgrace, suspected of treason and fraternising with the enemy.


When the English King takes a child bride, Argyle glimpses the opportunity to return to favour and secure a peaceful existence at the outskirts of courtly life. But a ghost returns from the grave, and Argyle realises that what he desires most can never be his.

As heads roll and blood spills, a traitor slips between the royal sheets, and

Argyle is forced to acknowledge that, sometimes, chivalry can lead to only one destination: Death.

Click here to purchase your copy

A Web of Lies


A fateful promise. An invisible enemy. A deadly secret.

Argyle Mowbray wakes up bludgeoned and bloody. He has no idea where he is or how he got there.

Slowly, the pieces of Argyle’s nightmare puzzle fall into place, revealing an unravelling King, an enemy returned to claim more than what is his by rights, and a royal secret that threatens to tear England apart. 

When Argyle is dragged to Paris in shackles, he has but one choice if he wants to earn his freedom and protect his family: Retrieve King Charles’ beloved daughter or die trying.

Click here to purchase your copy

Legacy of Kings

The weather is abysmal. The granaries are empty. And Argyle Mowbray is caught in a net of rebellion and deceit.

As a storm gathers over England and King Henry IV's grasp on power grows weaker by the day, Argyle Mowbray faces his greatest challenge yet.

To stave off the reveal of his dark secret, he is forced to strike a deal with the English King that sends him far from the English shores never to return. In the brash and brazen court of the Danish King Eric and his powerful adoptive mother Margarethe I, Argyle finds some solace, but his respite is short-lived.

Soon, his past comes knocking and it sets him on a final quest for redemption. Will he succeed and save his family or plunge his entire legacy into chaos?

The final tale about Argyle Mowbray is based on historical events and is the fourth volume of the Mowbray Chronicles.

Preorder your copy NOW

Other books in The Mowbray Chronicles

Shield of Blood

A dynasty on the brink of collapse. A French beggar boy raised to knighthood, fame and fortune. Is his final act enough to ward off destruction?

How does a French beggar boy end up setting in motion a series of events that will resound through the centuries? That will upset the delicate balance of a kingdom, a family and a dynasty.

Even in his wildest dreams, Edmund cannot imagine what life has in store for him.

It takes a death, a war set to last a hundred years, and a crumbling line of Kings, before Edmund realises that fate has put the future of England in his hands.

But what fate has not foreseen is just what kind of a man Edmund is – or what he intends to unleash.

Shield of Blood is based on historical events and is a stand-alone novel in the Mowbray Chronicles. The book is set in and around one of the most explosive periods of the Hundred Year War between England and France.

Click here to purchase your copy

Mette Holm on social media


Mette Holm is a writer of historical fiction focusing on last of the Plantagenet rulers beginning with Richard II. Mette has been telling stories all her life, be it in school, at university or even in her day-job as an independent business owner and copywriter.

As a quirk - despite her Danish heritage - she knows more about medieval England than she does about Danish medieval history. But that is all about to change...

You can follow Mette Holm on social media - but to be absolutely certain, you don't miss all of the perks, sign up for Mette's newsletter